Hello Sambagz peeps,

Today I wanted to reflect.  For many years I was an Earnhardt fan.  Then sadly I went to the “dark side” and supported the young gun, Jeff Gordon.  Today’s hero’s are leaving in NASCAR.  Tony Stewart, Jeff Gordon, Greg Biffle, have just been the latest drivers that have only added to the pain of NASCAR’s growing popularity.  NASCAR did announce that they partnered with MONSTER Energy in order to gain popularity with the young crowd.

I am happy for Jr because I was in the similar position when I worked for MRN Radio.  I was having a new baby that would require more time being at home rather than on the road.  I loved the travel and the comradery that comes with working in a fast paced sport.  Jr will always be a integral part of NASCAR not only because he is a team owner on the Xfinity series but his name is what keeps NASCAR alive.

With the addition of Dale Earnhardt Jr announcing that he is going to retire only adds to the NASCAR dilemma.  For years NASCAR’s ratings have been down and so have the crowds.  Who can take the reins and help NASCAR what is to become of the sport in the next 5, 10, or even 15 years.  Only time and people’s opinion will tell.

Sambagz OUT!!

